The Fields od Athenry

Wczoraj mieliśmy w Gdansku irlandzki dzień. I pokaz czym może być kibicowanie. Wspaniały pokaz …

Nie będę silił się na komentarz – załączam fragment tekstu Cormaca Eklofa:

There are going to be plenty of cynics who try and bring this wonderful little moment down, but just ignore them. Crank up the volume, sit back and enjoy the 6 minutes video from German TV below. This is just a wonderfully unusual moment in sports, a moment of goodwill, kindness, passion and loyalty. 

Enjoy it for what it is. Support, in the truest sense of the word. No Nazi banners, no bananas thrown on the pitch, no angry, hateful chants. Just pride and passion, displayed in a dignified, moving way by literally thousands of Irish who refused to let the score get in the way of their support for their boys. 

We live in what can be a nasty, brutish world, it is heart warming every now and then to find an oasis of goodwill and humanity. Low lie, the fields of Athenry.. 

Cały wpis znaleźć można tutaj.  Zgadzam się i podziwiam tych, którzy lecą taki kawał drogi i przy stanie 0:4 nie odwracają się od drużyny, nie gwiżdżą. A co to za pieśń?  Najkrócej jak można z Wikipedii:

The Fields of Athenry (Pola Athenry] – irlandzka ballada folkowa, opisująca historię fikcyjnej postaci (Michael), który za próbę kradzieży żywności dla głodującej rodziny został skazany na zsyłkę do Australii. Rzecz dzieje się podczas klęski głodu w Irlandii w połowie XIX wieku, kiedy to przywleczona ziemniaczana zaraza spowodowała falę głodu, która pochłonęła prawie półtora miliona istnień i przyczyniła się do największej fali emigracji w historii Irlandii. 

Od 1990 r. ballada jest hymnem kibiców reprezentacji Irlandii.

komentarzy 10 to “The Fields od Athenry”

  1. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  2. My family members all the time say that I am killing my
    time here at net, but I know I am getting knowledge everyday by reading such nice content.

  3. Howdy there, I mainly sought to actually put a brief observation
    to actually aim out that in fact I preferred your own posting.
    Many Thanks!

  4. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Regardless, just wanted to say great blog!

  5. Hello to all, it’s actually a nice for me to go to see this web page, it includes important Information.

  6. I think the admin of this site is in fact working hard in support of his
    web page, as here every stuff is quality based
    stuff.

  7. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?

    This post posted at this web site is genuinely pleasant.

  8. I do believe all the ideas you’ve introduced in your post. They are really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for beginners. Could you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  9. I drop a comment each time I appreciate a post on a site or I have
    something to contribute to the conversation. It is a result of the passion displayed in the post I browsed.
    And on this post The Fields od Athenry | prussport.

    I was excited enough to drop a thought 🙂 I actually do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Could it be only me or do some of the comments look like they are left by brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I’d like to follow
    you. Could you make a list every one of all your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  10. Look at the fits people had over the cloning issues.
    There are many exciting opportunities for conducting
    a business in India, especially, for entrepreneurs dealing in outsourcing technology,
    internet ventures, software development, e -commerce opportunity and business
    trends and ideas. Always remember, there is a heavy price to
    pay for keeping up with the Jones’. Users looking
    to download, or take more control over their slideshows, would be better using a dedicated photo slideshow
    program. ” According to the article, to apply for food stamps in Sacramento, it’s no longer stamps, but a debit card you use at the food market to buy groceries. Therefore, your online search could bring you towards an eminent tool that will enable you to watermark PDF files efficiently.

Skomentuj

